facebook-survey-scams

The website http://www.hoax-slayer.com  has published a report on Facebook Scams.

For years, Facebook users have been plagued by scam messages claiming that they can find out who has been viewing their profiles.

Typically, the messages claim that you need to click a link and then install a Facebook app to access a list of people who have viewed your profile.

After you have installed the rogue app – which will spam all of your friends with more scam messages – you will be told that you must complete a survey before you can see the list.

More detail about these scams can be found in the Facebook Survey Scams Knowledge Guide, where it describes how the suspect survey pages will attempt to trick you into divulging your personal information or signing up for expensive SMS services.

What to do

Simply delete it right away. Do not click on any links in the message. If you accidentally click any link do not follow the instruction listed on that fraud surveys or promotions nor never install any apps.

If you do get tricked into installing a rogue application via a survey scam link, go to “Home” > “Privacy Settings” > “Apps and Websites” > “Edit your settings” and go into the “Apps you use” settings. From there you should be able to remove the offending application.

How to help

The best way you can help combat these survey scams is by letting your friends know about them.  If one of the scam messages appears on your wall, be sure to let the friend who posted it know that he or she has been caught in a scam. You might want to send people to this page so they can learn more about survey scams

For more details see the full article at Source Hoaxslayer